Minutes for the regular National Finance Committee meeting February 25, 2025.

Meeting convened at 8:35 PM (ET) a quorum being present, the Convener and 2024 NFC Secretary being present.

Attending: Christine Avalos, Tom Chase, Fred Dodsworth (Convener), Lynden Foley, Steve Kucala, R. Paul Martin (2024 NFC Secretary), Myla Reson, James Sagurton, Dennis Williams, Michael Woodson also attending were PNB Chair Susan Young (*ex officio*), Executive Director Stephanie D. Wells, WBAI interim General Manager Bob Hennelly, WBAI Business Manager Chris La Pilusa, PNB Directors Donna Carter, Minerva Sanders and Alex Steinberg and PNB Recording Secretary Aki Tanaka.

Agenda:

- 1. Convene 8:30 PM (ET)
- 2. Roll Call R Paul Martin (2024 NFC secretary)
- 3. Approve Agenda
- 4. Approve Minutes (February 11, 2025) (5 minutes)
- 5. Elect committee Chair and Secretary *pro tem* for this meeting (5 minutes)
- 6. Seek nominations for permanent Chair and Secretary and authorize balloting by Opa Vote (10 minutes)
- 7. ED report regarding FY 2024 consolidated financial report and FY 2025 first quarter financial results (10 minutes)
- 8. WBAI Financial Report: (30 minutes)
 - A. National Office: Stephanie Wells, Executive Director,
 - B. WBAI Management: Bob Hennelly, interim General Manager
 - C. Chris La Pilusa, Business Manager
- 9. Adjourn to closed session -- 9:30 PM (ET) (time certain)
- 10. Reconvene in open session for Report Out and Adjourn -- no later than 10:30 PM (ET)

Roll call 8:35 PM (ET)

The 2024 NFC Secretary called the roll.

Approve Agenda 8:38 PM (ET)

Motion: (Susan Young) "To approve the agenda." (Passed without objection)

Approve Minutes (February 11, 2025) 8:39 PM (ET)

Motion: (Susan Young) "To approve the minutes of the February 11, 2025, NFC meeting as distributed." (Passed without objection)

Elect committee Chair and Secretary *pro tem* for this meeting 8:40 PM (ET)

Chair pro tem

Myla Reson nominated Fred Dodsworth and Fred Dodsworth accepted the nomination.

R. Paul Martin nominated James Sagurton and James Sagurton accepted the nomination.

The candidates each spoke of why they should be elected.

Secretary pro tem

James Sagurton nominated R. Paul Martin and R. Paul Martin accepted the nomination.

Myla Reson nominated Aki Tanaka and Aki Tanaka declined the nomination.

R. Paul Martin being the only candidate he was declared to be Secretary *pro tem* for this meeting.

Election for Chair pro tem			
8:45 PM (ET)	Fred Dodsworth	James Sagurton	Abstain
Christine Avalos	1		
Tom Chase		1	
Fred Dodsworth	1		
Lynden Foley	1		
Steve Kucala	1		
R. Paul Martin (Secretary)		1	
Myla Reson	1		
James Sagurton		1	
Dennis Williams		1	
Michael Woodson	1		
TOTALS	6	4	0

Fred Dodsworth was elected Chair pro tem.

Seek nominations for permanent chair and secretary and authorize balloting by Opa Vote 8:46

PM (ET)

Motion: (Susan Young) "The committee authorizes voting by Opa Vote for elections for permanent Chair and Secretary." (Passed without objection)

Steve Kucala nominated Fred Dodsworth for Chair and Fred Dodsworth accepted the nomination.

Steve Kucala nominated Aki Tanaka for Secretary and Aki Tanaka accepted the nomination.

R. Paul Martin nominated James Sagurton for Chair and James Sagurton accepted the nomination.

James Sagurton nominated R. Paul Martin for Secretary and R. Paul Martin accepted the nomination.

There were no other nominations.

The Chair of the PNB said that PNB Secretary Julie Hewitt would conduct these Opa Vote elections for the NFC.

ED report regarding FY 2024 consolidated financial report and FY 2025 first quarter financial results 8:49 PM (ET)

The Executive Director told the committee that the FY24 consolidated financials which had been shared with the committee at the last meeting had received no requests for revisions and so they could now be distributed.

WBAI Financial Report 8:51 PM (ET)

The Executive Director spoke about changing Management at WBAI after years of deficits. The WBAI interim General Manager and Business Manager told the committee what they have been doing to raise more revenue and cut expenses.

The committee discussed the report with them.

The Chair declared the meeting adjourned. 10:35 PM (ET)

Adjourned to executive session 10:35 PM (ET) Submitted by R. Paul Martin, Secretary